Tata Sons wins case against Oktatabyebye.com
Posted by Gautam
- WIPO – Image via Wikipedia
Interesting thing to note is that MakeMyTrip which owns the domain is talking to the community and building up quite a support, however I don’t come across anything similar by the Tata folks.
As they say:
Very recently, TATA Sons filed a case against us (oktatabyebye.com) in infringement of their TATA name (as our domain name contains the ‘TATA’ word!). Tata Sons has contended that it is confusingly similar to its ‘Tata’ brand and the travel portal runner has no rights or legitimate interests to use it. The company had argued that the site infringed the right of its registered trademark/service mark ‘Tata’.
And in a decision by a sole panelist, ownership of the domain OkTataByeBye.com has been awarded to TATA by WIPO (World Intellectual Property Organization) Arbitration and Mediation Centre.
Needless to say we’re alarmed by such claims on our domain name. The Oktatabyebye.com domain name is importantly a representative of the colloquial “OK Ta Ta Bye Bye”, which represents travel, journey and related activities, referring to the generic word “Ta Ta”.
Nikhil Pahwa blogs at Medianama
MakeMyTrip (which owned the oktatabyebye domain) is going to appeal against the order, CEO Deep Kalra has told MediaNama, adding that ”Ta ta is a generic that everyone understands.” Strangely enough, there is no appeals process at WIPO, so MakeMyTrip will file an appeal in India to stay the transfer of the domain name.
What is that they say about people who live in glass houses? Via Twitter, Cleartrip informs us that MakeMyTrip owns Cleartrip.net.in. Unlike Ta ta, I don’t think Cleartrip is a generic, is it?
About Gautam
Gautam is a Consultant who helps Organizations beocme more Open and Transparent.Posted on August 29, 2009, in india, media, online, social media and tagged Disputed Domain Names, Domain name, Intellectual property, OkTataByeBye.com, World Intellectual Property Organization. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.
![Reblog this post [with Zemanta]](http://img.zemanta.com/reblog_e.png?x-id=e557f8f3-c6a3-4c70-88f6-58af532be017)

I do not think oktatabyebye.com has anything to do with trademark infringement and this looks quite generic. This is high handed attitude from Tata Sons. Unfortunate, but true.
Yes, if this domain would have been booked in bad faith by Mamata Banerjee to say “bye bye” to Tata Singur plant, then I would have favored Tata Sons!
Abhishek
This is sick. I am loosing faith with these people slowly. As a supporter of Green Peace I have been against Tatas blatant denial of facts going against Olive Ridley turtles in Orissa, because of the port work near their breeding ground.
Now this stupid claim on oktatabybye.com.